Club Honors 2020 Graduates

July 26, 2020  (Lawnside, New Jersey) — Graduating high school seniors were honored Saturday at a virtual Lawnside Scholarship Club program that featured an address by Ray Fisher, stage and screen actor known for his role as the Cyborg in Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice and Justice League. RayFisherSpeaks

The event was hosted by the NAACP Camden County East Youth Council on Facebook Live because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Fisher empathized with the graduates telling them that he entered high school in 2001 after the attacks of September 11.

“The fact that you were able to get through this year should give you confidence, it should give you strength, it should give you a sense of courage that you will be able to handle just about anything else that life has to throw at you.”

He told the students to take stock of the pride and the beauty of Lawnside’s heritage as an African American self-governing community. He encouraged them to continue to fight for social justice and to go out and vote.

These are the recipients of the Lawnside Scholarship Club’s top awards for 2020:
Highest Average – Kennedy Banks, Haddon Heights High School, Florida State University
Second Highest Average – Veronica DeAbreu, Haddon Heights High School
Third Highest Average – Freideliz Perez, Haddon Heights High School, Rutgers University, Camden
Fourth Highest Average – Ava Wilson, Paul VI High School, Temple University
All will receive the Elizabeth Jones Academic Excellence Award because their averages exceed 93.

Community Award Recipients
Dwight and Yvonne Anderson Award – Rayonna Cooper, D’Layne Peterson
Lawnside PTA Awards for Unsung Heroes – Nyla Alston, Anthony Bland, Jr.
Edna Jay Sports Award – Te’Sean Pressley
Melody Moss Walcott Law Award – Veronica DeAbreu
Madge Mitchell Math Award – Ava Wilson
Edna Harper Service Award – Ariyon Bailey
Henry Long Memorial Award – Nyla Alston
Masjid Freehaven Model Citizen Award – Veronica DeAbreu
Raymond G. Davis, Jr. Memorial Award – Isayah Alston
Sonia Farmer Character Award – Tammy Nguyen
Mr. & Mrs. Richard Wise Award – Tyrone Still
Dr. & Mrs. Cecil Still Award – Sillahmusu Kanu
I.R. & Anna J. Bryant Award – Freideliz Perez
Leon N. Williams Law Award – Te’Sean Pressley
Amos & Roxie Rogers Award – Tyrone Still
Bryson C. Armstead Award – Nadir Jefferson
Joy M. Harper Award – Janelle Martin
Rick Williams Health Services Award – Za’Myah Williams
Steven A. Israel Sports Awards – Tammy Nguyen, Unsung Hero;
      Te’Sean Pressley, Outstanding Athlete
Dorothea Carter Memorial Award – Lorenzo Flores
Drs. William & Flora Young Award – Kennedy Banks
Walter A. Gaines Natural Science Award – Veronica DeAbreu
Lawnside Scholarship Club Fine and Performing Arts Award – Nadir Jefferson
Curtis & Lula Moss Memorial Award – Janelle Martin
William Travis Creative Arts Award – Christopher Gilmore
Thomas A. Whitaker Award for Mechanical Advancement – Rayneal Wilson
Reach for the Stars Award – Anthony Bland, Jr.

Awards given at Haddon Heights High School Commencement, July 16 & 17
Helen Mae Henderson Nursing Award – Za’Myah Williams
Ephraim J. & Mary C. Still Award – D’Layne Peterson
Linese Miller Leadership Award – Ariyon Bailey
Sharon Whitaker, president of the Lawnside Scholarship Club, closed the program by  thanking our donors and sponsors for their commitment to our students.

Printed program booklets will be available for distribution this week. Request booklets by copying and pasting this email address and sending a message with your name, address and the quantity you would like. Click here to review a  copy.2020cover

Comments are closed.